NCAA Tournament bound! — Holden helps Fordham win A10 title
March 10, 2019
CoastSportsToday Athlete of the Week: Joelle Klein, Lower Cape May
March 12, 2019

Ian Aungst among those honored by National Football Foundation


Ocean City High School quarterback Ian Aungst was one of 17 Cape-Atlantic League football players recognized by the National Football Foundation’s South Jersey Chapter with scholarship awards at a dinner over the weekend.

In addition to his academic success, Aungst set single-season OCHS records for most pass attempts; most passes completed; passing yards; most 100-yard passing games; most 200-yard passing games; most consecutive 100-yard passing games; and most consecutive 200-yard passing games.

In addition, he set new records for pass attempts and completions in a game.

“The ceremony was awesome,” Aungst said. “To recognize players from every school in this area for the dedication and effort we put in on the field – but also in the classroom – is great. Obviously, academics comes before athletics. Football is a team sport and I was honored that Coach (Kevin) Smith nominated me for the award.”

Aungst – pictured above in between NFF chapter officials Henry Wimberg and Dave Bennett – does not plan to pursue football at the next level. He expects to attend the University of Delaware and study graphic design.

Two other winners from Cape May County are pictured below.  

Cameron Hamer of Middle Township posed with Coach Frank Riggitano
Joe McGhee of Lower Cape May is with Wimberg and Bennett

Others from the CAL who were honored included Regino Rodriguez (Absegami), Mike Arrington (Atlantic City), Taz’Mire Burton (Bridgeton), Branden Perez (Buena), Joe Curry (Cedar Creek), Adelin Iseini (Egg Harbor Township), Ryan Yost (Holy Spirit), Michael Brown (Mainland), Sammy File (Millville), Alec Rodriguez (Oakcrest), Akeem Walker (Pleasantville), Chris Allen (St. Augustine), Brad Lomax (St. Joseph) and Mike Bokma (Vineland). Jim Quinn, who has spent more than five decades producing coverage of high school football in Millville and the CAL, was honored as the chapter’s Distinguished American. Former Bridgeton coach Dave Ellen won the award for contributions to football. And John Emel of Penns Grove was named the chapter’s South Jersey Coach of the Year.

Jeff Kodytek, with Riggitano, was chosen the chapter’s Official of the Year

This award was presented to Wildwood grad Wes Hills as the D2 College Player of the Year at Slippery Rock, an award he shared with Mark Clements (Oakcrest) of New Haven. The D1 Player of the Year was Ryquell Armstead (Millville) of Temple and the D3 award went to Dylan Mento (Hammonton) of Gallaudet University.