Local hoops star appears closer to college choice
July 15, 2019
Barber, Fenton, Sides named to all-star teams at national lacrosse tournament
July 18, 2019

Five from county inducted into youth football Hall of Fame

The Cape Atlantic Junior Football League recently inducted (from left) Sam Caraballo, Bill Osborn, Frank Simonsen, Chuck Endicott, Dave Glassford and Dominic Branca into its newly established Hall of Fame. Also inducted posthumously was Paul Parrinello.

Five people with ties to Cape May County were among the inaugural inductees when the Cape Atlantic Junior Football League held its first-ever Hall of Fame ceremonies earlier this month.

Sam Caraballo, Dave Glassford, Paul Parrinello, Bill Osborn and Frank Simonsen were the inductees from Cape May County.

Caraballo was first a player and is currently a coach in Middle Township after also serving as a coach in Dennis Township. He won a championship as a player and two as a coach in the league. He is also currently the vice president of the CAJFL.

Glassford founded the Dennis Township Blue Devils in 1992 and has been involved with the program in Dennis Township for the past 29 years.  

Parrinello was the founder of the CAJFL in 1961, served as president for four seasons and was involved in the league for 12 years. Parrinello, who also was heavily involved with the recreation department in West Cape May, passed away in 2012.

Osborn was a star player in the CAJFL in the late 1970s. He went on to star for both Wildwood High School and the University of Pittsburgh. He is currently a senior vice president at Defend Your Head and was instrumental in the company’s donation of soft-shell helmet covers to the Wildwood Islanders program last fall.

Simonsen is one of the CAJFL’s most iconic coaches. He coached in the Lower Township program for nearly 50 seasons and won 10 championships. Simonsen was also instrumental in bringing teams from outside Cape May County into the league.

Also inducted into the CAJFL Hall of Fame were longtime Galloway Township coach Chuck Endicott and former Egg Harbor Township Youth Organization coach and past league vice president and president Dominic Branca.