Two Cape May County lifeguards selected for world junior championships
August 18, 2019
Nearly 20 high school football games to air on 98.7, 106.3
August 24, 2019

North Wildwood Recreation summer basketball champions

The North Wildwood Recreation Department held its summer basketball league championships earlier this month.

The Wharf team won the North Wildwood Recreation grades 3-5 summer basketball title. Pictured are (from left): front row – Bobby Meehan, Sabrin Fathi, MaryKate Meehan, Laila Fathi; back row – Billy Gledhill, Jack McMullin, Kevin Sullivan, Emma Ortavtis.

Grades 3-5 – Wharf 12, Capture Photography 7: Jack McMullin posted 8 points and Kevin Sullivan chipped in 3 points to win the championship for the Wharf.  Capture Photography was led by Gavin Thibodeau with 3 points followed by Kirsten Gibson and Michael Valerio McWade with 2 points each.

The Ed’s Fundcade team captured the championship in the grades 6-8 division in the North Wildwood Recreation summer basketball league. Pictured are (from left): front row – Carter Short, Teddy Woolery, Joey Eisenhardt, Gavin Connor; back row – Angel Gonzalez, John Shoemaker, Owen Rodowicz, Tyler Rodowicz, Michael Finn.

Grades 6-8 – Ed’s Funcade 31, North Wildwood Police 28: Carter Short scored a game high 13 points and Tyler Rodowicz added 9 points to win the Championship for Ed’s Funcade.  Mark Stendaro and Patrick McGuinn dropped in 9 points each for North Wildwood Police.

The Wildwood Moose Lodge 585 team won the championship in the North Wildwood Recreation summer basketball league’s high school division. Pictured are (from left): Jaden Kelly, Cody Lubisky, Justin Weiss, Nick Papamarkos, Jermaine McNeill, Robert Pasquarella

High school – Moose Lodge 57, Shoobie’s Good Eats 55: Jermaine McNeill tallied 22 points and Jaden Kelly sank the winning basket as time expired and added 16 points for Moose Lodge. Devon Roach and Brandon Ratcliffe each netted 22 points in the loss. 

DeWeese Law Firm claimed the championship in the North Wildwood Recreation summer basketball league’s men’s division. Pictured are (from left): top row – Matt Moretti, Nick Papamarkos, Tommy Bolle, Jimmy Kane, Quel Johnson; bottom row – Taj Thweatt, CJ Wareham, Liam Grimes, Martin Anguelov, Tommy Belanson, Jahlil White, David Zarfati, DaSean Lopez.

Men’s – DeWeese Law Firm 67, Seaport Pier 61: Taj Thweatt sank 25 points and Tommy Belansen added 16 points for the winners. Matt O’Connor (28) and Brian Clarke (12) led Seaport Pier.