Cape May County Alumni Notebook
October 9, 2017
Townsel strengthens CAL scoring lead – Zamot, Morgan, Fondacaro tops in passing, kicking
October 9, 2017

1996 OCHS football team to be inducted into Hall of Fame

On Oct. 22 the Ocean City High School Sports Hall of Fame will induct four athletes, three coaches and one team. It will increase the Hall of Fame membership to 40.

The ceremony will be the final part of Red & White Weekend which begins on Friday afternoon (Oct. 20) with a football pre-game barbeque and rally before the game with Mainland at Carey Stadium.

The induction ceremony will be held in the Bill & Nancy Hughes Performing Arts Center at the  high school starting at noon. The ceremony will be free of charge and the public is encouraged to attend. Following the ceremony on stage, to be hosted by John Bruno, there will be a luncheon reception in the OCHS cafeteria. The cost of the reception is $20 per person with special rates for young children. Tickets can be reserved by calling Vince Leavey at OCHS (609-398-1290, x6656).

The four athletes being inducted are Jen Blizzard (field hockey, softball); Leon Brown (football, basketball, track); Abbey Woolley (field hockey, track); and Kevin Sinclair (football, basketball, track).

The three coaches being inducted are the late Ralph Carson (golf); Mike Naples (girls track, girls cross country); and Phil Birnbaum (boy tennis, girls tennis).

The team being inducted is the 1996 football team, which was undefeated (11-0), No. 1 in South Jersey and No. 8 in the East. The award will be accepted by head coach Gary Degenhardt.

The school is hoping members of the 1996 football team who are available will attend the ceremony to be introduced. The complete roster from 1996 is listed below. Please look over the roster and communicate to these former players via social media or any other source to make sure they are aware of the ceremony.

1996 OCHS Football Roster
6        Ray Rogers                  Freshman
8        Kevin McCann             Junior
10        Andy Lane                   Junior
12        Scott Lipford                Senior
15        Matt LeFever                Senior
16        Mike Pfaff                   Senior
20        Mike Pond                   Senior
21        Vito Constantine          Sophomore
24        Shawn Teeney              Junior
26        Justin Pryor                  Senior
27        Andrew Hansen            Junior
28        Adam Martin                Freshman
30        Brian Comeforo            Junior
31        John Klebaur                Junior
32        Matt Dearing                Senior
33        Rob Warren                 Sophomore
34        Austin Martin               Sophomore
35        Jay Toscano                 Freshman
36        Pat Dennison                Sophomore
40        Mark Town                  Sophomore
42        Mal Finch                     Junior
43        Kevin Sinclair              Senior
45        Matt Hansen                 Sophomore
46        Greg LeFever               Senior
50        Jason Clarkson             Sophomore
51        Bill Carew                    Senior
52        Pete Simon                   Junior
54        Brendan Gheen            Senior
55        Mike Tolson                 Junior
57        Bryan DiDonato           Sophomore
60        Andy Zuzulock            Sophomore
62        Evan Whalen                Sophomore
63        Dan Stillwell                Sophomore
64        Ed Pearce                     Senior
65        Bill Marks                    Sophomore
66        J.L. Clarkson                Junior
67        Josh Case                     Senior
70        Chris Jackson               Sophomore
71        Stacy McCray              Sophomore
72        Justin Moffitt               Sophomore
73        Matt Beebe                   Sophomore
74        Dan Siteman                Senior
75        Nick Bailey                  Senior
77        Kevin Jennings             Sophomore
78        Dennis Singleton          Senior
79        Jim Town                     Junior
85        Rob Braddock              Senior
86        Jeff Yachmetz              Senior
88        Ernie Nelson                Sophomore
89        Matt Chila                    Freshman

Head Coach: Gary Degenhardt
Assistants: Skip Angelo (offense), Mark Impagliazzo (defense),
Paul Baruffi, Wayne Colman, Tom Jamison, Kevin Smith, Mike Williscroft