Whom do you think should be in the OCHS Sports Hall of Fame?
November 29, 2017
Cape May County high school swimming preview
November 30, 2017

Four from this area are finalists for NJ sports media awards

Four from this area are among the finalists for New Jersey sportscasting and sportswriting awards according to the National Sports Media Association (formerly known as the National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association) in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Mike Gill, Mike Frankel and Tom Williams are finalists for New Jersey Sportscaster of the Year. Dave Weinberg joins Steve Politi of NJ.com and Gregg Lerner of MSG Varsity as the NJ Sportswriter of the Year finalists.

Gill, the host of The Sports Bash weekday afternoons on 97.3-ESPN, won the state award in 2009. This is the sixth time he has been a state finalist. Frankel, sports director and anchor at SNJ Today, is a finalist for the second time. Williams, play-by-play voice, producer and online coordinator for Prime Events and Coast Sports Today, has won the state award nine times, including last year. This is 30th time as a state finalist.

Weinberg, who covers the Eagles, boxing and high schools for the Press of AC, has won the state award three times, the last in 2012. Weinberg is a finalist for the 17th time.

The finalists for 2017 National Sportscaster of the Year are Joe Buck, Fox; Ian Eagle, CBS; Mike Emrick, NBC; Kevin Harlan, CBS; Ernie Johnson, Jr., Turner Sports; Sean McDonough, ESPN; Al Michaels, NBC; Jim Nantz, CBS; Dan Patrick, NBC; Dan Shulman, ESPN; Mike Tirico, NBC; and Scott Van Pelt, ESPN.

Final nominees for National Sportswriter include Christine Brennan, USA Today; Pat Forde, Yahoo Sports; Lee Jenkins, Sports Illustrated; Peter King, Sports Illustrated; Buster Olney, ESPN.com; Ken Rosenthal, The Athletic; Steve Rushin, Sports Illustrated; Bob Ryan, Boston Globe; Wright Thompson, ESPN.com; Tom Verducci, Sports Illustrated; Dan Wetzel, Yahoo! Sports; and Adrian Wojnarowski, Yahoo! Sports

Finalists for induction into the NSMA Hall of Fame will be announced later.

Voting for the state and national winners by NSMA members will begin tomorrow and continue throughout December. All winners will be honored at the group’s 59th annual awards program in Winston-Salem from June 23-25.