Final CAL softball stats: Wildwood Catholic hitters dominate
June 22, 2018
Local club soccer team qualifies for national championships
June 26, 2018

MTHS announces athletic award winners

Middle Township seniors (from left) Gary Nagle, Kayla Cubernot, Sean Geary, Rob Giulian and Lindsey Pane were among the school's major athletic award winners.

Middle Township seniors (from left) Gary Nagle, Kayla Cubernot, Sean Geary, Rob Giulian and Lindsey Pane were among the school’s major athletic award winners.

Middle Township High School held its annual athletic awards ceremony last month. All senior athletes were honored and the school also announced its major award winners at the event.

Gary Nagle and Lindsey Pane were each named winners of the Charles E. Douglas Memorial Award, given to a male and female in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field of sports. The award is voted upon by all of the school’s senior athletes.

Nagle was a standout in football, wrestling and track and field, while Pane, a 12-letter varsity athlete, excelled in field hockey, swimming, lacrosse and track.


Rob Giulian and Maggie Fossett were the recipients of the Robert K. Penkethman Award, given to the male and female senior athlete who have made a significant contributions to the athletic programs in a sportsmanlike manner. The winners of the Penkethman Award are also chosen by their peers.

Giulian was a three-sport athlete, participating in cross country, swimming and tennis. Fossett was a four-year member of the field hockey team.

Kayla Cubernot was given the Purple Heart Award, awarded by the school’s athletic trainer to the senior athlete who most overcame injury and/or adversity. Cubernot returned from a major injury to enjoy a very productive senior softball season.

Pane and Sean Geary were each honored for earning 12 varsity letters. Geary earned his letters in soccer, swimming and track and field.

Also honored were all senior athletes who earned four varsity letters in at least one sport. They included: Giovanni Berardis (lacrosse), Caitlyn Boone (fall cheerleading), Matt Brown (soccer), Stephen Burner (baseball), Austin Cominsky (wrestling), Kayla Cubernot (softball), Sophia Ellis (softball), Maggie Fossett (field hockey), Aaron Garcia (baseball), Sean Geary (soccer, swimming, track and field), Rob Giulian (tennis), Carly Gombar (field hockey), Sam Grassi (softball), Stephanie Hand (volleyball), Erin Hawk (fall cheerleading), Zach Hurtado (swimming), Carly Krieg (fall cheerleading), Bridget McLaughlin (basketball), Tathya Modi (swimming), Gary Nagle (wrestling), Lindsey Pane (field hockey, swimming), Urvi Patel (swimming), Myesha Sapp (volleyball), Tim Sawyer (soccer), Erin Schalick (track and field), Jenna Sittineri (fall cheerleading, swimming), Maggie Slavin (lacrosse), Emma Stanford (soccer), Miranda Targum (swimming), Delaney Tice (fall cheerleading), Zach Wyatt (baseball).

— Brian Cunniff